National University and California Community Colleges Announce Student Transfer Agreement

  • Agreement offers students at California’s 110 community colleges three types of scholarships to National University
  • National University will waive $60 application fee and pay for final two courses in amount worth $2,682
  • National University one of few private universities in California to have such agreement

SAN DIEGO and SACRAMENTO, CALIF. – National University and the California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office today announced a joint agreement which makes it easier for students at community colleges to transfer to National University, the state’s second-largest, private, nonprofit institution of higher education.

The purpose of the agreement is to provide greater opportunities for students at any of California’s 110 community colleges to pursue their goal of earning a bachelor’s degree if they have completed their lower-division community college transfer requirements or an associate’s degree. Students can transfer units earned toward an associate’s degree or lower division general education credits to National University and receive credit toward a bachelor’s degree. While the state’s public universities have this agreement in place, National University is one of a few private universities engaged in a similar community college transfer agreement.

As part of the agreement, National University will waive the standard $60 application fee for transfer students. Additionally, to encourage students who have transferred from a California Community College, National University will provide scholarships to every community college transfer student which will pay for the student’s final two classes in his or her degree program, an amount worth $2,682 under the University’s tuition schedule. To be eligible, transferring students must:

  1. Be in good academic standing at the time of application;
  2. Have completed 30 semester units at a CCC or combination of CCCs; and,
  3. Their last semester of enrollment must have been at a CCC.

Under the agreement, three types of scholarships are available to students from community colleges who transfer to National University, including:

The California Community College Scholarship

  • Offers each college the ability to award $1,600 to an outstanding student who transfers to National University
  • National will collaborate with local community colleges to select the students.

Collegiate Honors Scholarships

  • Students transferring with collegiate honors (3.50 cumulative GPA) will be eligible for a scholarship at National University worth $1,600 that can be applied at the beginning of their program to help offset tuition expenditures.

Presidential Tuition Scholarships

  • National University will provide up to 60 Presidential Tuition Scholarships per year.
  • $2,500 for students meeting the outlined criteria.
  • Scholarships are available to students who are eligible for Federal Student Aid to assist them with the cost of tuition.
  • The scholarships are available for annual renewal.
  • Students are eligible for the scholarship if they are:
  1. Educationally and economically disadvantaged and have been historically underrepresented,
  2. Single parents with financial need, or
  3. Persons with a verified disability with financial need.

Through the community college transfer agreement, National University and the community colleges are taking steps to make higher education more accessible to California’s diverse student populations. Students in rural areas who are interested in transferring will be able to take their upper division courses online if a National University campus is geographically inaccessible.

For more information about National University, please contact David Neville, at (858) 642-8163 or via email at [email protected]. For more information about the California Community Colleges, contact Paige Marlatt Dorr, Director of Communications, at (916) 327-5356 or via email at [email protected].

About National University
Founded in 1971, National University is the second-largest private, nonprofit institution of higher education in California with 22,000 full-time students and 230,000 alumni. National University is dedicated to making lifelong learning opportunities accessible, challenging and relevant to a diverse population of students. Five schools and one college – the Schools of Business and Management; Education; Engineering and Technology; Health and Human Services, and Media and Communication; and the College of Letters and Sciences – offer 75 graduate and undergraduate degrees and 22 teacher credentials at more than 30 locations throughout California and in Henderson, Nevada. A leader in online education, National University offers more than 60 degree programs via the Internet. National University is headquartered in La Jolla, California. To learn more, visit

About the California Community College System
The California Community Colleges is the largest higher educational system in the nation comprised of 72 districts and 110 colleges with more than 2.8 million students per year. Community colleges are the largest workforce provider in the state and offer more than 175 degree and certificate programs in hundreds of fields such as, advance manufacturing, biotechnology, business, and computer science. The system trains more than 70 percent of nurses and 80 percent of the fire, law enforcement and emergency medical technicians in California. The Chancellor’s Office provides leadership, advocacy and support under the direction of the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges. For more information about the community colleges, please visit

Learn More About Our University and Scholarships

Join our email list!

Recent Resources

Your passion. Our Programs.

Choose an Area of Study

Your passion. Our Programs.

Select a degree level

View Programs