DEIC Subcommittees


The President’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council is divided into five subcommittees that are committed to assessing the University and developing recommendations to foster a more wholly inclusive and equitable culture. Learn more about the missions and members of the DEIC subcommittees. Joseph Hoey is the DEIC Chair of the President’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council.

The subcommittee evaluates how to create and ensure access for all underserved populations at the institution, including students, staff, and faculty. It works to develop methods to improve access and success for all members of the NU community while enabling advancement (retention) and success (graduation) for underserved students.

Subcommittee Chair

Tricia Crosby-Cooper, PhD

Subcommittee Members

Martin Gallardo

Jen Keyes
Chief Financial Officer

Brad Dotson
Director of Student Success
Division of Student Success

JB Robinson
Associate Director, Accessibility and Wellness
Division of Student Success

Brie Martin
Institutional Researcher
University Analytics and Institutional Research

The goal of the subcommittee is to assess and recommend improvements to embed diversity and social justice concepts throughout curricular and co-curricular studies (field trips, field experience, study abroad, etc.) and University processes (Career Services, Student Organizations, Financial Aid, Office of Student Conduct, etc.), including outcomes assessments.

Subcommittee Chair

Lori Piowlski, PhD
Chair of the Teacher Education Department; Associate Professor
Sanford College of Education

L. Erika Saito, PhD
Assistant Professor and Course Lead in MA Social Emotional Learning (SEL) and MA Inspired Teaching and Learning, SEL Emphasis
Sanford College of Education

Subcommittee Members

Mudasser Wyne
Professor of Computer Science and Program Director, MS in Computer Science
College of Professional Studies

Miles Leader
Professor English Language and Pathway Program
National University Language Institute

Heather Michel
Statewide Clinical Practice Co-Coordinator

The subcommittee coordinates with Executive Leadership, Human Resources, and Public Relations to review institutional responses to city, state, and national events related to diversity, equity, and inclusion. It leads qualitative and quantitative assessment of students, staff, and faculty to identify trends and perceptions of campus climate to support action plans for transformational and sustainable institutional action. It also leads activities surrounding disseminating knowledge and awareness of the DEIC and its activities to the NU community.

Subcommittee Chair

Anita Handson
AVP Brand, Strategy
National University System Agency – Marketing Department

Subcommittee Members

Julia McMillan
Coordinator, NU Scholars Program
Center for Student Engagement and Activities

Ricardo Ortega
Compliance Specialist
Academic Affairs Dept.

LaCrisia Gilbert
Office of the Ombudsman

The subcommittee is focused on assessing and collaborating with other groups to develop methods and practices for adult learners to further reinforce an educational environment that fosters a sense of belonging to the institution. This includes the learning environment, mode of delivery, ancillary departmental services, an atmosphere of respect and supportiveness, and the way all of these experiences combine to create a unique learning culture where all students can thrive.

Subcommittee Chair

Peilin Fu, PhD
Professor and Academic Program Director, Engineering and Computing
College of Professional Studies

Subcommittee Members

Joseph Hoey, IV, EdD
Chair of the President’s Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Council
Vice Provost for Academic Services at National University

Ildifonso Carrillo
Senior Instructional Designer
Center for Innovation in Learning

John Akapito
International Student Success and Services Representative
International Programs Office

This subcommittee is dedicated to creating and fostering a university culture where everyone feels welcome, respected, and valued.

Subcommittee Chair

Ritika Bhawal, Associate Professor, PhD
Associate Professor and Academic Program Director, BSPH Program
College of Professional Studies

Subcommittee Members

Carolyn Aoki
Human Resources Business Partner
Human Resources

Starlone Thomas
Manager, Talent Acquisition
Human Resources

Matt Medeiros
Chief Compliance Officer and Title IX Coordinator
Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost