About National University

National University is one of the largest private, nonprofit institutions of higher education in California. Founded in 1971, National University consists of the Schools of Business and Management, Engineering and Computing; Health and Human Services; and Professional Studies; and the Sanford College of Education, and the College of Letters and Sciences.

National University is proud of its commitment to diversity. National University provides more master's degrees in education to minority students than any other college or university in California, as well as more master's degrees in all disciplines combined to the state's Hispanics and African Americans, according to Diverse Issues in Higher Education and the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS). Annually, National University also ranks in the Top 10 nationally in granting master's degrees to women.

In each of the past 13 years, National University has prepared more credentialed teachers than any other single institution of higher education in the state, according to the Commission on Teaching Credentialing.

National University offers 100 undergraduate and graduate degrees, as well as 30 certificates and 22 credential programs. A leader in online education, National University offers more than 70 graduate and undergraduate degree programs and over 1,200 courses online.

National University is committed to accessibility and features locations throughout San Diego County. Regional campuses are also located in Costa Mesa, Sacramento, Redding, San Jose, Stockton, Fresno, Bakersfield, Ontario, San Bernardino, Los Angeles, Oxnard, Woodland Hills and Twentynine Palms, as well as Henderson, Nevada.

National University is the flagship institution of the National University System, which was established in 2001 to meet the emerging demands for education in the 21st century. In addition to National University, the affiliates of the National University System are: John F. Kennedy University; City University of Seattle; the Division of Pre-College Programs, which includes National University Virtual High School and National University Academy; and WestMed College.

National University's administrative and academic headquarters are located in La Jolla, California.