National University

Request Information

(800) 628-8648 Get Started

Campus Finder

Areas of Study

Alumni Awards

The awards our alumni achieve in their chosen professions reflect their personal achievement and speak to the value of their education at National University.  The University is proud to share the following information regarding our alumni and the awards they have received.

In 2008, three of the five California Teachers of the Year were National University alumni, including: Lewis Chappelear, who teaches engineering design at James Monroe High School in North Hills (Los Angeles County); Gregory McFall, an eighth grade teacher at Johnson Middle School in Westminster (Orange County); and Tamara Reina, who teaches English and U.S. history at the East Mesa Juvenile Detention Facility in Otay Mesa (San Diego County).

Chappelear, McFall, and Reina join a distinguished list of National University alumni who have been named California Teacher of the Year, including: Sandra McBrayer (1994); Jan Mongoven (2000); and Alan Sitomer (2007).

Chappelear was also chosen to represent California in the 2008 National Teacher of the Year competition. Like Chappelear, Sitomer and McBrayer also were chosen to represent the state in the national competition, with McBrayer receiving the nation's top educational honor in 1994.

The announcement of Chappelear, Sitomer, and McBrayer as California Teachers of the Year is yet another example of National University being recognized for the excellence of its School of Education. Including this year, nine National University alumni have been named San Diego County Teachers of the Year in the past 10 years. In the past, National University alumni have earned such honors as National Teacher of the Year (1994); California Teacher of the Year (1994 and 2000); California Principal of the Year (2003); Los Angeles Unified School District Teacher of the Year (2002); and Sacramento County Teacher of the Year (2003).

National University is a member of the National University System.