National University

Request Information

(800) 628-8648 Get Started

Campus Finder

Areas of Study

Graduate Certificate in Bereavement Studies

Bereavement permeates all areas of life. The way one understands oneself and one s world is completely shattered, requiring multiple transitions within multiple systems in which one is embedded. Sometimes these transitions and the way one reconstructs the world becomes complicated, resulting in grief responses that interfere with meaning-making and integration of the loss. Therefore, those in a helping role who understand the integrative nature of loss are in need. This bereavement certificate aims at educating learners from all walks of life in the area of death, loss, and bereavement. The graduate of this program may sit for the Certification in Thanatology (death studies), which results in an individual s credential as a Certified Thanatologist. Those with this specialization can work in areas such as palliative and hospice care, geriatric facilities, post death services, spiritual counseling, hospitals, mental health, consultation, community health, educational settings, and rehabilitation centers, to name just a few. Others ay wish to take individual courses for continuing education units without having to complete the entire certificate program.


Requirements for the Certificate (8 courses; 36 quarter units)
Core Requisite(s):

Program Information

Online Education

This program is available online.