National University

Alumni In The News

California Chief Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye has approved the interim appointment of Ronald Overholt (MPA, 1985) as administrative director of the California Courts, effective September 10. “As chief deputy director of the (Administrative Office of the Courts) for the past 11 years and as a highly experienced former trial court executive, Ron is intimately familiar with the statewide budget process and many other aspects of court administration," Cantil-Sakauye said in a news release. For more information, click here.

Debbe Deverill (BBA, 1977) is the co-chair of this year's Incline Village Relay for Life in Lake Tahoe, California. She is semi-retired from commercial real estate as a broker and director of marketing, assisting with home and space design and sales. To read more about Deverill, click here.

Brody Barrios (MEd, 2010), assistant wrestling coach at Palomar College for the past five years, has been promoted to head coach. Barrios also serves as wrestling coach at San Marcos High School. He was a two-time California state champ at Poway High in the 1990s. For more information on Barrios, click here.

Kate Povletich (MS Ed., 2000), a Golden Valley High School social studies teacher, was announced as the District Teacher of the Year, by the William S. Hart Union High School District Governing Board. She is the social studies department chair, senior class advisor and a member of the professional development team. To read more about Povletich, click here.

Stephanie Burns (MBA, 2008) is the creator of Chic CEO, LLC, (, a free web resource for female entrepreneurs. Her site was named one of the top 10 Entrepreneurial Websites for Women and one of the top 100 Websites for Women by Forbes. To read more about Burns, click here.

Mark Burroughs (M Ed, 2002), a fifth-grade teacher at San Pasqual Union School, and Alicia McBride (MAT, 2004), a language arts, history and personal development instructor at Reflections, a county probation department day treatment center in La Mesa, were named 2011-2012 San Diego County Teachers of the Year on October 1. For more information, click here.

Doug Bettencourt (CRED – 2004) a fifth grade teacher at Juliet Morris Elementary School in Cypress, California, and Sunshine Cavalluzzi (M.Ed – 2003), a teacher at El Dorado High School in Placentia, California, took honors as Orange County Teachers of the Year. For more information, click here.