National University

Alumni Named Teacher of the Year in Orange, Riverside and Sacramento Counties

National University alumni have been named Teacher of the Year in Riverside and San Bernardino Counties respectively.

In Orange County, David Goldenberg, an advanced placement history teacher at Beckman High School in Irvine who earned his preliminary single subject credential with National, took the honors in May.  According to the Orange County Register, tudents in Goldenberg's classes have an average passing rate of 81 percent on AP tests, nearly three times higher than the national average. Goldenberg uses games like Simon Says to introduce complex material like Marxist perspective. He also has students adapt lyrics to contemporary songs so they will describe East Asian civilizations.

Amyleen Tuiza, a special education teacher for autistic students at Phillip Stokoe Elementary School who earned her II moderate/severe credential through the National University School of Education, took the honors in Riverside County in May.  She has been a teacher for 14 years and is involved in many community projects, including collecting and donating supplies for less fortunate students in the Philippines.

New Sacramento County Teacher of the Year Bob Crongeyer was announced on August 15. He teaches 5th-6th grade GATE (Gifted and Talented Education) at Taylor Street School in in North Sacramento’s Robla School District. He completed his credential program with National University in 1989.

Additional alumni may be announced as Teachers of the Year in San Diego, Los Angeles, Fresno and Santa Clara Counties over the next two months.

The County Teachers of the Year programs feed into the  the California Teachers of the Year Program.  Initiated in 1972, the statewide program honors the best among 300,000 dedicated professionals throughout California, recognizing those who are exceptional at fostering and advancing academic success and bringing parity to a diverse spectrum of students.

To date, seven National University Alumni have earned this prestigious distinction, including Darin Curtis (San Diego, CA) – 2010-2011; Lewis Chappelear (Los Angeles Co.) – 2007-2008; Gregory McFall (Orange Co.) – 2007-2008; Tamara Reina (San Diego Co.) – 2007-2008; Alan Sitomer (Los Angeles Co.) – 2006-2007; Jan Mongoven (San Diego Co.) – 2000-2001; and Sandra McBrayer (San Diego Co.) – 1994-1995.

Many of these individuals, in turn, represent California in the National Teacher of the Year program, which began in 1952 and continues as the oldest, most prestigious national honors program focusing public attention on excellence in teaching.

The National Teacher of the Year is chosen from State Teachers of the Year by a national selection committee representing major national education organizations. Each April, that special teacher is introduced to the American people by the President of the United States.

One alumna, Sandra McBrayer, took the title of National Teacher of the Year in 1994.